Monday Musings & Miscellany…on Tuesday

IMG_3480

This poster caught my attention while I was waiting at the drive-up for my order from Jack in the Box. I won’t tell you what I was ordering. As I think about how “un-appetizing” these items are and the clever (or not so clever) names, I cannot help but chuckle and realize why we have so many health issues in our country.

IMG_3558

It reminded me of the time I saw a poster outside of a 7/11 advertising “Loaded Doritos.” Loaded with what, you might ask, loaded with cheese, 100% pure cheese I am sure.

QUOTE FOR THE WEEK

“When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years.” – Mark Twain

This is one of my favorite quotes about youthful pride and ignorance. If you are humble enough to admit it, you realize how very right Twain was. Unfortunately this realization often doesn’t take place until you have a 14 year old of your own.

I recently started watching a Ken Burns’s documentary on Mark Twain. If you know anything about Mark Twain you know what a fascinating individual he was. He was considered by many to be one of the greatest writers of all time. If you have Amazon Prime, I would recommend it.

VERSE FOR THE WEEK

1 Corinthians 6:19–20 (ESV) — Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

Don’t you love it when you get your own way? I sure do! The only problem is that most often, when I get my own way, it leads me to wanting it all the more. Inevitably I find that it leads to a certain level of discontentment. Could it be that this is because from the moment I became a Christian I was called to put my wants and my desires aside in order that I might more effectively serve Christ. Most certainly!

I love this verse as well as Acts 20:28 which reminds me that I have been purchased through the precious blood of Christ. My heart pauses every time I read of such a wonderful truth. Why is that? Because I am so aware of my desire to own myself and to do things the way that I want to do them. When I do what I want to do, it doesn’t go very well. It seems that the more often I fully surrender to this truth the better things are.

HOW TO AVOID FOCUS-STEALING TRAPS

Even for people who consider themselves good at focusing, the technology age presents a challenge. Never before have so many devices, cell phone alerts, social media platforms, advertisers, and tasks been competing for our attention. So, we could all probably use a little help getting focused.

The older I get the more trouble I have staying focused. This article caught my attention amidst all of the distractions that vie for my attention. It was a good read and a good reminder of how to do a better job of staying focused.

As a side note, I was distracted during the writing of this by well intended family members telling me I need to drink more water. After a few sarcastic comments about why I don’t I searched for the connection to water intake and focus. By the sounds of the article Water and Brain Function: How to Improve Memory and Focus, it looks like I’ll be drinking more water.

THE ART OF PARENTING

Being a parent can be a great reward . . . and a great challenge! In a compilation of 20 short videos, Alistair Begg shares wise counsel on a variety of topics pertaining to parenting, including why discipline matters, the importance of praying for our children, how to raise God-honoring children, and much more. Gain a wealth of practical insights that you can readily apply in your home.

I would encourage you to watch these 20 short videos, snippets of Alistair Begg’s thoughts on parenting. It will take you less than 15 minutes and well worth it. You can listen to Begg’s Parental Priorities: God’s Design for the Family here.

Oh how I wish I would have had a resource like this when I started parenting over 40 years ago. As for raising children to be responsible citizens, by God’s grace, I was very successful. Unfortunately, raising them in the biblical truth’s of the Lord, not near to what I would have liked.

I would encourage you to take advantage of a resource such as this. Time passes far too quickly and before you know it your children are grown and raising children of their own.

4 thoughts on “Monday Musings & Miscellany…on Tuesday

  1. Hi Pastor Ron,
    Thanks so much for the post on Alister Begg’s parenting videos! I watched the videos during my little one’s naps and, long comment made short, this is exactly what I needed today to encourage me that I am going in the right direction. Needless to say the book should arrive at my door in the next week or so 😁 Thanks for all you do!

    Sincerely,
    Tracey Jones

  2. Hey Pastor Ron!
    I just finished the Alistair Begg parenting “book” (I put book in quotes as it is only 44 pages long) and boy does it pack a punch for $2! It goes over the Biblical role of father and mother and it was very uplifting! I absolutely adore being a mom and the calling God has given me in it and this book was a great energy shot in the arm! I’ll definitely keep it close by for those “keep calm and mommy on” type days! Thanks again for recommending!

    1. So glad to hear, thanks for the follow up. Missed a couple Mondays with travel and getting caught up. Hoping to be back in the groove this coming Monday. Have a blessed rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

