Musings & Miscellany

fullsizeoutput_52a7

I got a real kick when I read this text which a dear friend of ours sent to Jenny. In it she was saying what she decided to do to celebrate “Reformation Day” and share it with the trick or treaters who came to her door. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

“This yummy candy bar you have is actually not to celebrate Halloween but to celebrate the 500th anniversary of the Reformation! In the old days, when we went to church, the teacher would tell you what the Bible said but on this day, five hundred years ago, the people decided  ‘Hey we want to read the Bible on our own and in our own language please!” and in doing that they learned that the way to Heaven was not to do good things and try to be good  (which is what the teachers were telling them) but in belief and faith that Jesus died for all the bad things that they had done in their life! So cheers! And enjoy this yummy candy bar in celebration of us being able to have the Bible in our own language and study on our very own!”

QUOTE OF THE WEEK

“I’ve often reminded people that heaven is not only a destination, it’s a motivation. When you and I are truly motivated by the promise of eternity with God in heaven, it makes a difference in our lives.” Warren Wiersbe, On Earth as it is in Heaven

Perhaps you have heard the saying, “he is so heavenly minded that he is no earthly good.” How can that be? Aren’t we supposed to be heavenly minded? Aren’t many of the problems we experience on this earth a result of putting our faith in the temporal things which consistently let us down? Being heavenly minded, eternally focused, will bring about a sense of purpose which we will not have otherwise.

VERSE FOR THE WEEK

Philippians 4:11-13 (ESV) – Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

I couldn’t help but think of this verse as I was reading the article “When Rejoicing with Others is Hard.” What a wonderful verse this is, especially when you find yourself in seasons of “discontentment.” The key to this verse is in the “learning.” Contentment doesn’t come naturally, it is a lesson learned through the supernatural strength of Jesus Christ.

SOMETHING GREATER THAN US

“I am not her Savior. I have crossed oceans for her; he crossed galaxies. I will sign a covenant with her in ink; he signed his in blood. I would die for her; he has died for her. I desire to love her perfectly; he has done so and always will.”

This will no doubt be one of the most beautiful things you have read about a man’s heart for his bride on their wedding day, and God’s heart for the church, his heart for his bride.

WHEN REJOICING WITH OTHERS IS HARD

“Sometimes joy for another is hard, especially when the blessing in his or her life reminds us of a blessing missing in our own. When God provides for our brother in Christ, answers his prayer, or blesses him in some way, our first response isn’t always to rejoice.”

Though it is hard to admit the times I have been envious of others, I find a peace in what is at the heart my envy. The writer of this article states, “At the heart of envy is seeking contentment outside of Jesus.” How is it that this brings peace? The conviction of the ugliness of my heart, by the Holy Spirit, draws me to Jesus, the only place where true contentment is found.

6 TIPS FOR READING THE BIBLE WITH YOUR KIDS

“Two questions I’ve tried to keep asking my kids are: “What does this teach us about God?” and “What does this teach us about salvation?”

Though I have not read this book, “Exploring the Bible: A Bible Reading Plan for Kids,” I would highly recommend it. For two reasons” 1) I trust Crossway Publications, and 2) I failed in this area with my own children and don’t want to see any parent make the same mistake.

While I was great at creating those “happy childhood memories,” how much better it would have been if those memories had been grounded in the Bible. As I think back on my years of parenting, no adventure I could have made up, and I created some doozies, could have matched the adventures of God’s word.

 

2 thoughts on “Musings & Miscellany

  1. Hi Pastor Ron!
    Thanks for the post “something greater than us”. I hate to admit it but I actually got kind of choked up reading that post! Jesus is just so amazing, I wish I had the vocabulary to truly articulate my gratitude, amazement, etc. for all Jesus has done for my soul and what He continues to show me of His love and greatness. This was a neat post that just widened my heartfelt gratitude to my Savior!

    1. I thought it was great as well, indeed the Lord is so very good. Thanks for reading! What did you think of the pumpkin photo and comment, I thought it was quite good as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

